When faced with my demons I clothe them and feed them…

Comments on: "Slaughtering Shakespeare" (1)

  1. For a moment I thought you might be featuring something about Robert Hastie’s current production of “Julius Caesar” at the Sheffield Crucible theatre. I had the misfortune of going to that a week ago and walked out during the intermission unable to watch Shakespeare being slaughtered anymore. Hastie transplanted it to the modern day, so all Roman senators were dressed in suits, ties etc, then to add insult to injury (amongst many other insults) the famous soothsayer was an impoverished young female chav with a baby prop who delivered the famous “beware the ides of March” line as if she was ordering a pizza. It was insulting, I found it all very offensive and I was not alone as several others also walked out during the interval, angry and fed up with the farce they’d just sat through! Hastie was making a point that the political situations Shakespeare wrote about are just as applicable today in the times of Trump, Mother Theresa etc, but did it in such a tasteless way, I couldn’t stomach it. I’m not a big Shakespeare buff but, for goodness’ sake, leave it pure! To say I violently disagree with the ass-licking fawning reviews is putting it mildly!

Leave a Reply

